Pete´s Messageboard... No ISO/BIOS requests!

Homepage Members Register Login Search Old board


Neuer Thread ...


AuthorTopics » Book an abo for this threadClose Thread Move Thread Fix the thread Print view Delete this thread

James 



...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 11.05.2008
Post:2
Send Message
...   Created on 11.05.2008 - 18:13Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


For battles in FF games I usually map spacebar to switch off the fps limit so I can skip through easier battles.

Moving to a new pc my screen was too dark in full screen mode with the old drivers, so I decided to try the ogl2 driver.

At first with ogl2, I could set and use the spacebar to switch off the fps limit, but the screen was still to dark and so I added Pete's shader_brightness shader and the brightness was ok.

While testing this however, I noticed that I could no longer switch off the fps limit, and then I found that switching off "use fps" from the ogl2 options or the in game options didn't work either.

Furthermore the same problem is now apparent in all of ogl, dx6 and d3d drivers. In each of these, I've tried fast settings, always with fps limit unchecked, and still although "rock solid", the framerate is always at 60fps.

This 60fps is present both in window and fullscreen modes.

Also in fullscreen modes, I think epsxe now runs at 60hz. At least I can tell the refresh rate is different from when I ran epsxe on my old pc, because I'm using the same crt monitor and when I select modes like 800x600 I used with my old pc, their size and dimension settings are not adjusted. Also in 1024x768 it's obvious that the refresh rate is 60hz from the way the screen flickers.

This is on an 8800gt with the drivers that shipped with it. I set vertical sync to force off in the nvidia panel but still in epsxe with any driver the fps is 60 and the frequency looks like 60 hz. PC games however run fine at high refresh rates.




diceman2037 
Real addict
.........

...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 18.07.2005
Post:229
Send Message
...   Created on 12.05.2008 - 03:29Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


James schrieb

    For battles in FF games I usually map spacebar to switch off the fps limit so I can skip through easier battles.

    Moving to a new pc my screen was too dark in full screen mode with the old drivers, so I decided to try the ogl2 driver.

    At first with ogl2, I could set and use the spacebar to switch off the fps limit, but the screen was still to dark and so I added Pete's shader_brightness shader and the brightness was ok.

    While testing this however, I noticed that I could no longer switch off the fps limit, and then I found that switching off "use fps" from the ogl2 options or the in game options didn't work either.

    Furthermore the same problem is now apparent in all of ogl, dx6 and d3d drivers. In each of these, I've tried fast settings, always with fps limit unchecked, and still although "rock solid", the framerate is always at 60fps.

    This 60fps is present both in window and fullscreen modes.

    Also in fullscreen modes, I think epsxe now runs at 60hz. At least I can tell the refresh rate is different from when I ran epsxe on my old pc, because I'm using the same crt monitor and when I select modes like 800x600 I used with my old pc, their size and dimension settings are not adjusted. Also in 1024x768 it's obvious that the refresh rate is 60hz from the way the screen flickers.

    This is on an 8800gt with the drivers that shipped with it. I set vertical sync to force off in the nvidia panel but still in epsxe with any driver the fps is 60 and the frequency looks like 60 hz. PC games however run fine at high refresh rates.


adjust the brightness via the Nvidia Control Panel.




PeteBernert 
Admin
...............

...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 04.10.2003
Post:818
Send Message
...   Created on 12.05.2008 - 06:55Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


about the 60 FPS limit: usually there are three possibilities.

1) FPS limitation is activated in the gpu config
2) VSYNC of the gfx card is enabled
3) Some SPU plugins (Eternal?) also have the possibility to limit the framerate

since you have already checked 1+2, the only reason I can think of is 3.




diceman2037 
Real addict
.........

...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 18.07.2005
Post:229
Send Message
...   Created on 12.05.2008 - 11:42Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


PeteBernert schrieb

    about the 60 FPS limit: usually there are three possibilities.

    1) FPS limitation is activated in the gpu config
    2) VSYNC of the gfx card is enabled
    3) Some SPU plugins (Eternal?) also have the possibility to limit the framerate

    since you have already checked 1+2, the only reason I can think of is 3.


good point Pete, spuasync needs to be used for fps unlimiter to work.

just a quick question, will you have any beta plugins for those of us using the epsxe beta to test




James 



...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 11.05.2008
Post:2
Send Message
...   Created on 12.05.2008 - 19:48Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


diceman2037 schrieb

    good point Pete, spuasync needs to be used for fps unlimiter to work.

    just a quick question, will you have any beta plugins for those of us using the epsxe beta to test


Thanks both. Actually I had spuasync set to wait and that caused the 60fps.
------------------------
The 60 hz was just a coincidence with moving to the new computer which refreshlock solved.

The problem with the brightness is a bug in the 8800gt drivers which causes the settings for 3d to default when a 3d app starts. For now I'm using powerstrip with a gamma setting of 1.65 as a workaround.




diceman2037 
Real addict
.........

...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 18.07.2005
Post:229
Send Message
...   Created on 14.05.2008 - 03:25Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


James schrieb

    Thanks both. Actually I had spuasync set to wait and that caused the 60fps.
    ------------------------
    The 60 hz was just a coincidence with moving to the new computer which refreshlock solved.

    The problem with the brightness is a bug in the 8800gt drivers which causes the settings for 3d to default when a 3d app starts. For now I'm using powerstrip with a gamma setting of 1.65 as a workaround.


Oops, i meant SPUAsync:Smooth, setting it to wait is the problem.

update to Forceware 175.16 WHQL.




pavka 



...

Status:Offline
Date registered: 23.05.2008
Post:1
Send Message
...   Created on 23.05.2008 - 01:22Jump to top Quote this post Report this post Edit Delete


James schrieb

    For battles in FF games I usually map spacebar to switch off the fps limit so I can skip through easier battles.

    Moving to a new pc my screen was too dark in full screen mode with the old drivers, so I decided to try the ogl2 driver.

    At first with ogl2, I could set and use the spacebar to switch off the fps limit, but the screen was still to dark and so I added Pete's shader_brightness shader and the brightness was ok.

    While testing this however, I noticed that I could no longer switch off the fps limit, and then I found that switching off "use fps" from the ogl2 options or the in game options didn't work either.

    Furthermore the same problem is now apparent in all of ogl, dx6 and d3d drivers. In each of these, I've tried fast settings, always with fps limit unchecked, and still although "rock solid", the framerate is always at 60fps.

    This 60fps is present both in window and fullscreen modes.

    Also in fullscreen modes, I think epsxe now runs at 60hz. At least I can tell the refresh rate is different from when I ran epsxe on my old pc, because I'm using the same crt monitor and when I select modes like 800x600 I used with my old pc, their size and dimension settings are not adjusted. Also in 1024x768 it's obvious that the refresh rate is 60hz from the way the screen flickers.

    This is on an 8800gt with the drivers that shipped with it. I set vertical sync to force off in the nvidia panel but still in epsxe with any driver the fps is 60 and the frequency looks like 60 hz. PC games however run fine at high refresh rates.





Similarly threads:
Topics Created by Replies Boardname
Best ATI drivers + OGL2 plugin Titus 1 pete_bernert
New drivers, new problems. OGL2 irecinius 18 pete_bernert
Is it possible to make PS1 30fps games run at 60fps? isamu 2 pete_bernert
pal=25 fps ntcs=30 measured with fraps and pete fps shows 50/60fps Seleuco 4 pete_bernert
Stuck in the suburbs bettycrockerbake 6 binag
Neuer Thread ...





Masthead

This forum is a free service of razyboard.com
Do you want a free forum in less than two minutes? Then click here!



Verwandte Suchbegriffe:
spuasync | vertical sync in epsxe | ogl2 screen flicker | epsxe force 60 fps | pete ogl 2 frame limit | how to limit frame rate psxr | epsxe frame limi | epsxe force 50 hz
blank